Max Jakob Memorial Award presented to Dr. John R. Howell

     Dr. John R. Howell, associate dean of research in the College of Engineering and the Baker-Hughes Centennial Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin is being presented the 1997 Max Jakob Memorial Award. This will occur at the 7th annual American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)/American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Joint Thermophysics and Heat Transfer Conference in Albuquerque, N.M. on June 16.

     Established in 1961, the Max Jakob Memorial Award is bestowed in recognition of eminent achievement of distinguished service in heat transfer. In 1997 the award is supported by the generosity of the Taylor & Francis Group in Philadelphia. It is given in the honor of Max Jakob, a pioneer in the science of heat transmission, commemorating his outstanding contributions as a research worker, educator and author.

     A graduate of Case-Western University, Dr. Howell's research centers on controlling temperature and energy. Much of his present work consists of developing fast and accurate computer models of energy devices such as industrial furnaces and semiconductor manufacturing processes. In particular, he is developing computer tools to aid designers of these processes. He has three textbooks to his credit, as well as more than 200 articles, papers and research reports.

     Dr. Howell has received numerous awards for his teaching and research. He chaired UT's mechanical engineering department (1986-90) and was director of the Center for Energy Studies (1989-92). He was program director of the Thermal Transport and Thermal Processing Program for the National Science Foundation in 1994-95. Before becoming one of UT Austin's most distinguished engineering professors, Howell was a researcher at the NASA Lewis Research Center and taught at the University of Houston.