Four faculty elected to National Academy of Engineering

     Four University of Texas at Austin engineering professors received the engineering profession's highest honor in February when they were elected to the National Academy of Engineering. These faculty will bring to 37 the number of NAE members from UT Austin's College of Engineering. Academy membership honors those who have made "important contributions to engineering theory and practice, including significant contributions to the literature of engineering theory and practice," and those who have demonstrated "unusual accomplishment in the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology."

     "We now have more National Academy of Engineering members teaching on our faculty than any other engineering school in the country except Stanford and MIT", noted Dr. Ben G. Streetman, dean of UT Austin's College of Engineering. "We're extremely pleased to offer this high level of professional expertise to our students and our research pursuits."

The four professors honored are:

  • Davis L. Ford, adjunct professor in civil engineering, and president, Davis L. Ford and Associates, for the application of theory to process design in environmental engineering
  • Larry W. Lake, P.E., holder of the W.A. (Tex) Moncrief Jr. Centennial Endowed Chair in Petroleum Engineering, and chairman of the Department of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering for contributions to quantitative reservoir description, and enhanced oil recovery
  • Isaac C. Sanchez, the Cullen Trust for Higher Education Endowed Professor in Engineering, for contributions to the understanding of polymer solutions and polymer blends
  • Kenneth H. Stokoe II, P.E., Brunswick-Abernathy Regents Professor in Soil Dynamics and Geotechnical Engineering, for advancing dynamic characterization of geotechnical materials.

     The four faculty were among 85 new memberships announced nationwide. This brings the Academy's total U.S. membership to 1,893.