Dr. Ben G. Streetman named Dean of the College of Engineering

     Dr. Ben G. Streetman is professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin, and holds the Dula D. Cockrell Centennial Chair in Engineering. His primary area of scholarship is semiconductor materials and devices. After receiving the Ph.D. from The University of Texas at Austin (1966) he was on the faculty (1966-1982) of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He returned to The University of Texas at Austin in 1982.

     Dr. Streetman founded the Microelectronics Research Center in 1984 and was Director until August 31, 1996. His teaching and research have been recognized by the College of Engineering, which honored him as a Distinguished Graduate and with the General Dynamics Award for Excellence in Engineering Teaching. He has also received the Dad's Association Centennial Teaching Fellowship for 1996-97, in recognition of his teaching of undergraduates. He was awarded the Education Medal of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the world's largest professional engineering society with more than 300,000 members worldwide.

     Dr. Streetman is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and is a Fellow of the IEEE and the Electrochemical Society. He was awarded the AT&T Foundation Award of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), and has received the Frederick Emmons Terman Medal of the ASEE.

     Dr. Streetman serves on the Science and Technology Advisory Council for ALCOA and has served on the Research Advisory Committee for United Technologies Corp. He has served on the National Academy of Science Government-University-Industry Research Roundtable, and on several other panels and committees in industry and government. He is the author of the book SOLID STATE ELECTRONIC DEVICES which is used throughout the world in four languages, and has published more than 250 technical articles. Thirty-one students of Electrical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, and Physics have received their PhDs under his direction.