Established in 1957, the Distinguished Engineering Graduate Award is the highest honor that the Cockrell School bestows on its alumni. The five distinguished engineering graduates for 2018 are innovators, entrepreneurs and highly respected leaders in their industries and communities. We honor them for their dedication and generosity, and we are proud to call them Cockrell School alumni.

Learn more about this year's inductees:

Joan F. Brennecke

B.S. CHE 1984
Professor, Cockrell School of Engineering

Joan F. Brennecke is a professor in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin and currently holds the Cockrell Family Chair in Engineering #16.

Read more »

W. Casey Fox

B.S. ME 1982
M.S. BME 1984
Ph.D. BME 1990
Founder, Chief Executive and Technology Officer, Metric Medical Devices Inc.

W. Casey Fox is the founder and current chief executive and technology officer of Metric Medical Devices Inc, a world leader in the development and commercialization of products that advance the musculoskeletal repair standard of care by speeding the healing process and minimizing non-healing.

Read more »

Thomas N. McKnight Jr.

B.S. ASE 1970
Founder, Eagle Rock Drilling Inc. and Eagle Rock Manufacturing Inc.

Thomas N. McKnight Jr. founded Eagle Rock Drilling Inc. and Eagle Rock Manufacturing Inc. in 2003, through which he designed and built a series of innovative hydraulic top drive drilling rigs. The intellectual property associated with his rig design was sold to LeTourneau Technologies Drilling Systems Inc. and is now owned by Schlumberger.

Read more »

Gary L. Thomas

B.S. PE 1972
President, EOG Resources Inc.

Gary L. Thomas is president of EOG Resources Inc., one of the largest independent crude oil and natural gas companies in the United States with proved reserves in the United States, Trinidad, the United Kingdom and China.

Read more »

Stephen T. Winn

B.S. EE 1969
Founder, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, RealPage Inc.

Stephen T. Winn is the founder, chairman and chief executive officer of RealPage Inc., a publicly traded technology company that has become the leading global provider of software and data analytics to the real estate industry.

Read more »

January 17, 2019

Beloved Longhorn and Chemical Engineering Legend John J. McKetta Jr. Dies at 103

John J. McKetta Jr., professor emeritus and dean emeritus at The University of Texas at Austin and namesake to the chemical engineering department in the Cockrell School of Engineering, died Tuesday, Jan. 15 at age 103. Calling UT Austin ... Keep Reading

January 14, 2019

Remembering Former Texas Engineering Dean Earnest F. Gloyna (1921-2019)

Earnest F. Gloyna, former dean of The University of Texas at Austin’s College of Engineering (now the Cockrell School of Engineering), died on Jan. 9 at the age of 97, leaving behind a legacy marked by exceptional leadership and ... Keep Reading

January 03, 2019

Two UT Engineers Elected to National Academy of Inventors

Hal Alper, professor in the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering, and Alex Huang, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, have been selected as fellows in the prestigious National Academy of Inventors (NAI) for 2018. They are the ... Keep Reading

cover of Texas Engineering magazine with group of students
cover of Texas Engineering magazine with group of students