Jayathi Murthy

Headshot of Dr. Jayathi Murthy

Dr. Jayathi Y. Murthy is currently Department Chair of Mechanical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin and holds the Ernest Cockrell Jr. Memorial Chair in Engineering. She received her Bachelor of Technology in Mechanical Engineering from IIT Kanpur in 1979 and Ph.D. degree from the Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in 1984.

She has worked in both academia and industry. She spent over ten years at Fluent Inc., a leading developer and vendor of computational fluid dynamics (CFD) software. She moved to Carnegie Mellon University in 1998 as Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. From 2001-2011, she was a Professor in the School of Mechanical Engineering, Purdue University. She also serves as the Director of PRISM, a $21M National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) funded center for Prediction of Reliability, Integrity and Survivability of Microsystems.

Dr. Murthy is the author of over 275 technical papers and reports, several book chapters on numerical methods, and has edited two volumes on heat transfer and CFD. She is an editor of the second edition of the Handbook of Numerical Heat Transfer (New York: Wiley, 2006), serves on the editorial boards of Numerical Heat Transfer and International Journal of Thermal Sciences, and has served as an Associate Editor of the ASME Journal of Heat Transfer.

Her research interests lie in the computational heat transfer and fluid mechanics, with an emphasis on the development of unstructured, solution-adaptive finite volume methods for industrial applications. More recently, her work has focused on the analysis of micro scale heat transfer, particularly in emerging microelectronics applications. Dr. Murthy serves on the K-16 and K-20 committees of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and is a Fellow of ASME. She is the recipient of the IBM faculty partnership award 2003-2005, the 2004 Journal of Electronics Packaging Best Paper award, 2005 ASABE Best Paper, 2008 ASME Summer Heat Transfer and 2009 ASME Interpack Best Paper awards, the 2009 ASME EPPD Woman Engineer of the Year award, the 2009 Purdue University Team Excellence award, and Purdue Acorn award for 2006-2011. In addition, she has served on numerous national committees and panels on CFD and electronics thermal management.