Paul receives award, delivering profit to UT Chemical Engineering

     Dr. Don R. Paul, holder of the Melvin H. Gertz Regents Chair in Chemical Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin, received the 1998 Council for Chemical Research Malcolm E. Pruitt Award. The award includes a plaque and $5,000 to be given to a chemistry or chemical engineering department of his choice. Dr. Paul will contribute the money to UT's Department of Chemical Engineering.

     Established in 1984 and given by the Council for Chemical Research, the Malcolm E. Pruitt Award is given annually to recognize outstanding contributions to research progress in the chemical sciences and engineering while interacting among the industrial, academic, and government research sections. Dr. Paul is the third UT Austin engineering professor to receive this award since 1991. Dr. C. Grant Willson was the recipient last year and Dr. James R. Fair accepted the award in 1991.

     Dr. Paul, a professor of materials science and engineering, joined the UT Department of Chemical Engineering in 1967, where he has helped develop the field of polymer blends. A member of the National Academy of Engineering since 1988, he was named a Distinguished Engineering Alumnus of his alma mater, North Carolina State University, in 1994. He is a founder of UT's Separations Research Program, founded the Center for Polymer Research at UT Austin and is now the director of the newly formed and rapidly growing Texas Materials Institute. He has been the editor of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Research since 1986, and served on many boards of the National Research Council, the U.S. Army, and as an academic advisor for the Industrial Research Institute. Dr. Paul collaborates his research at UT Austin with a several global companies, bringing industrial researchers to UT and students to industry.